Skip to content

Hang On, Let Me Be Positive About Argentina

October 13, 2011

Ok, so I’ve been bitching and moaning for the 10 days that I’ve been back here, starting with the mob mentality observed on the plane, and more of the same after I got off.

But something really interesting was pointed out my my friend (and partner on BA Cast) Fernando, when he said that what Argentina does best: get excited at a concert, show, or sporting event. In other words, Argentina has the best fans in the world.

And I agree 100%. And this is great for people who frequent these types of events. I won’t go into why this is the case, because that would require some negative commenting, and today was a great day, so I’m gonna stay positive.

What else do I love about Argentina? My wife and I went for a walk on Monday, through Canitas, Belgrano and even a little bit of Colegiales and what did I love about that? I love that within 20 blocks of my house there are 5o different places to stop, sit, have a drink, a coffee, a smoke, an ice cream, whatever…. And you can sit there forever, and watch tons of people walk by. I like people watching.

In the USA you have an extreme lack of things you can walk to and also places you can sit and people watch. It’s always go go go. The only place in the US where you can truly walk to stuff is New York City. There are some other neighborhoods where this is possible, in some urban centers, but in Buenos Aires you can walk to anything you need. In addition, in most rural towns and suburbs you can walk to anything you need. It is not endless parking lots and hugely over developed sidewalks that nobody uses. I think the conclusion here is that I have an extreme dislike for traveling in a car: they are uncomfortable, they make noise, they infuriate you, especially when driving, and they separate you from your fellow man.

I remember when I lived in LA and I pulled up to a stop light, not wanting to look at the person who was parked only 5-6 feet away from me at the stop light in the lane next to me. How dehumanizing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joseppi permalink
    April 28, 2012 9:51 pm

    Yeah, I’ve been where you are many times. Although the negatives far outweigh the positives, especially now that everything is super expensive here, here are some more: Wine, Beef, Icecream, the ability to reserve seats online at the movie theaters, cheap food prices at the movie theaters, and restaurants are open late.

    Actually in the US there are a lot of places you can go that are like Las Canitas: Pacific Beach/Ocean Beach/Gas Lamp in San Diego. North Beach/Fisherman’s Warf in San Francisco. Gold Coast/Lincoln Park Chicago. French Quarter/Garden District, New Orleans. Come to think about it almost every major city has somewhere like that.

    • May 1, 2012 5:15 pm

      Thanks for the comment! While I agree that there are a few places like this in the US, in Buenos Aires you have MANY MANY places like this (almost one in every neighborhood) where people are out and about. Also, in the US, you have to drive to these places where in BA you can walk or bus very easily.

Leave a Reply

Reserve Buenos Aires

PRIVATE WINE TASTING & CULINARY LOFT IN BUENOS AIRES, ARGENTINA

The Argentine Post

Information & Insight on Argentina

Yanqui Mike

No Peanut Butter in Argentina

Steak Buenos Aires

One stop for dining in Buenos Aires and all you need to know about Argentine asado!

Expat Argentina

No Peanut Butter in Argentina

Tasting Argentina

The Anuva Wine Tasting Blog

